“Now, this is gonna hurt.”

I just overheard Little Miss G explain this to Super L’s brand new Barbie doll right before she placed Barbie’s arm in a mechanical pencil sharpener. She was just about the turn the crank before I stopped her.  Am I wrong to find this mildly disturbing? Just what exactly was she pretending in that little head of hers that she was about to grind Barbie’s hand away? What exactly has she seen or heard that would prompt her to imagine inflicting pain? It was like something from Sid’s bedroom in Toy Story. Wait! I think I may have just answered my own questions.

And isn’t it interesting that she wasn’t going to torture her own Barbie doll?  Interesting indeed.

One thought on ““Now, this is gonna hurt.”

Leave a Reply

