Happy Happy Joy Joy

First of all, our 2007 taxes are done! I still need to write out the “ink” forms, make copies, and put it all in the mail, but I’ve done all the computations, checked, and re-checked the math. So the hard stuff is done. Now I just have to make sure that I don’t lose anything or let Super L (who has an uncanny ability to locate important documents and use them as coloring pages without my knowledge) get her grubby little hands on any of them.

In other good news: The healthful benefits of red wine has been promoted for years. I do enjoy a good glass of pinot. With my family’s terrible history of heart disease, I actually try to drink a glass fairly regularly. I did not need another excuse to enjoy it, but today the fine people at msn, in all their infinite wisdom, informed me that red wine actually inhibits fat absorption. I am convinced that Jesus wants me to drink this stuff (in moderation, of course). And now that sound you hear is all the Southern Baptist pastors who’ve ever “pastored” me raising a collective *sigh* and a few great- uncles wagging their heads and *tsk-tsk’ing* me. My mom’s side of the family is o-l-d s-c-h-o-o-l.

Later this week I leave for a weekend of good art, good food, and good company in Chicago with fourteen or our finest students and one very cool friend/co-worker. I have been looking forward to this trip for months with great anticipation. But right now mommy-guilt is starting to settle in. I’m going to miss my kids. I hate being away from them overnight. I feel like I already miss so much time with them being a working mom and a grad student. Super L is a bit too small to miss me too much. As long as Daddy or Little Miss G is around, she’s a happy camper. But Little Miss G is old enough that she has the sense of being left behind. She is almost old enough to come along, but I don’t think she would have the patience for an entire day at the Art Institute. Plus, a few of the juniors and seniors going on this trip are some of my favorites that I’ve had the pleasure of teaching, so I’d really like to be able to focus on enjoying my time with them.

I told LMG today that I’d be out-of-town for a few days, and she seemed fine with it when I told her that Daddy would be home with her. I will do the normal parent thing…spend obscene amounts of money on gifts for them while I’m gone and do a couple of extra-special activities with them before and after the trip. I’m thinking Chuck-E-Cheese for dinner tomorrow for starters. If she didn’t have a perfect attendance record so far, I’d consider keeping her home from school on Wednesday just to spend the whole day with her… but I know that isn’t the right thing to do. School is important. And perfect attendance! I was never able to do that when I was in school.

Leave a Reply

