Playing catch up–Vol. 2: At home.

So, typical to St. Louis, we’ve had some crazy weather this spring already. Middle march had some days that were downright balmy, and now in the second week in April we are back in our winter coats.

On the first day of spring we did a little backyard exploring, and we found this unwelcome guest.

“Dat a snakie,” Super L helpfully explained to the rest of us. She was happy to reach out and grab it, but I was having none of that. What perplexed John and I about this little critter is that he doesn’t look like any garter snake we’ve ever seen. And more importantly, he didn’t act like any garter snake we’ve ever encountered. While I wouldn’t describe him as aggressive, he didn’t exactly back down either. If it were up to me, I would have killed it, but John decided to get a stick and chase him back down into the woods so that he could come back and visit us later this summer 4X the size he is in this picture. Nice, eh? If any of you find folks can tell exactly what kind of snake this is, I’d be most appreciative.

After a bit more backyard exploring, Super L discovered a cool wind effect in the space between/behind our house and our neigbor’s. We could see this wind effect because it made Super L’s hair do this:

Yes, I realize this picture is very reminiscent of Drew Barrymore in Firestarter, but I still crack up every time I look at it. I could have said this is what her hair did when she saw the snake, but she was actually not afraid of it at all, and as I said before, would have picked the thing up if we had let her. Ladybugs, however, are a different story. They scare the crud out of her.

Then of course, there is Little Miss G. She never stays in one place for very long, and this was her favorite toy that day:

I adore this picture of her, but it creeps me out a little bit. It looks like it could be on one of those political commercials scrolling across the screen as some fear-mongering rhetoric insists that we must protect our families from _________ (fill in the blank with what you consider to be the most annoying political message here). And no, I’m not going to get all political here. At least not yet. That’s why I left the equal opportunity fill-in-the-blank. I have my own idea about what would go in that blank, but I’m not sure I want to open up that can of worms here and now.

Here is a pic of me doing one of my favorite things… sitting on the front porch with my goofball baby:

And so, that concludes the catch-up portion of this blog. I will try not to have such a long stretch again.

5 thoughts on “Playing catch up–Vol. 2: At home.

  1. Ohhhh. That’s a long necked single tailed double tongued mid-western housewife killer! My … uh … first wife found one of those. May she rest in peace.

    I wouldn’t worry about it. they seldom come back. Well. Not too often. But sometimes. Probably like … oh … 80% of the time. But they are much bigger by then and I’m sure you’d see it coming. Cause they are silent so seeing it would be important. They especially like to hide in and under pillows so that should make it easier to find when , I MEAN IF, it does come back ….

  2. Thanks Ron, thanks a lot. This coming from the guy who made his wife stand out on their 9th floor balcony DURING A TORNADO WARNING.

  3. Blah. Snakes! I was driving up First Street in Champaign last spring and this very large snake crossed over the road. As I was driving by it at 20 mph, I actually lifted my feet up from the floor of the car.

    When I got home I tried to identify what it was. It looked like something called a Northern Pine Snake (there were pines nearby), but apparently they also like cornfields (where it was headed when it was crossing the road).

    But I’m no snake lover… particularly when this one was like 4 feet long… I’m thinking good thoughts that the snake moves on!

Leave a Reply

