Playing catch up — Vol. 1: Out on the town(s).

Okay, okay. I know it has been a long time, but I don’t think I need to reintroduce myself. March was a very busy, very fun month, and I’ve been paying the price for the past two weeks. This last week at school was not pleasant. But, I don’t want to dwell on the bad stuff.

Fun catch up item #1: A coworker and I (Ms. Fabulous Art Teacher and Fellow Millikin Alum) chaperoned a trip to Chicago with students who are members of the National Art Honor Society. This group of students are very special to her and we had a wonderful time. I’d love to post pics of them, but as most of them are not 18 and I don’t have permission, and I’m not interested in getting fired over something like a blogging technicality, I’ll just post a picture of the scenery. I love Chicago. I love the streets, I love the spaces, I love the museums, I love the shopping, I love the pulse and the walking pace. I love the way the light filters between the tall buildings creating this very awesome ambient light that is coupled with a breeze. Even though there is concrete everywhere, the light and the air always give me a floating kind of feeling. And the people there are actually nice. Before we had kids, John and I seriously considered relocating there, and sometimes I wish we had. But when a young couple planning to have children have the blessing of having both families within a 15 minute drive, relocating 4 hours north is just craziness. But, I do love Chi-town.

Fun catch up item #2: The following weekend was eventful because it was our 10 year wedding anniversary and John’s birthday. We celebrated our 3,653 day of marriage (there have been 3 leap years since our wedding day) by going out to a nice dinner at Andrea’s. What was different is we took the girls with us. All three of us ladies got dressed up in nice clothes, put on some special make-up (lipgloss for them, I required a bit more) and carried purses. Little Miss G and Super L looked so cute, and I explained to them that this was a special night for mommy and daddy and that they were going to go on a date with us. Now, my girls are not particularly known for bad behavior, but they’re not known for excellent behavior either. I think they realized that this restaurant was fancy because they were super good. But the food came slowly, and I could sense that Little Miss G was getting restless. She between the soup and entree course she asked, “Are we done dating yet?” I wish I could post a pic of them on our date, but alas, I think i forgot to take pics. Oh well. We’ll always have the memories.

Fun catch up item #3: John’s birthday was fun. We met up with friends at Buffalo Wild Wings to watch the Final Four semi-finals. It’s always good to be around friends. John and I do get to go out together fairly often, but we don’t see our friends nearly enough.

These three fellows have been best friends since high school. And that was a looooong time ago.

More fun stuff to follow. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

