Toddler Speak: Vol. 1

We’ve been working with Super L on potty training. Some days she does pretty well, but we’re nowhere near mastery yet. Monday I asked her if she had to potty, and she said yes. So I sat her on the potty. She sat there for a moment and looked up at me with her sweet face, put her hands in the air, shrugged her shoulders and said, “Mommy, poo-poo not working. Pee-Pee is broken.” It’s not nearly as funny seeing it in print as it was at the time. I guess you had to be there. She seemed genuinely perplexed.

In other news, Little Miss G started martial arts class today. She said she liked it, but I didn’t get to talk to her about it for long because I had to get to class tonight. She showed me a couple of quick arm movements they practiced. I hope she likes it. I would so love it if my daughters grew up to be bad-asses who knew how to carry themselves confidently. I don’t want them to be bullies, but I definitely want them to know how to stand up for themselves… especially Little Miss G, who is very small for her age. I hope that she’ll like it and that it will help with her confidence. She also starts swim lessons tomorrow. So, we’ll see how that goes.

It’s almost 2 a.m., and I have to get up at 5:30 for work tomorrow. The decision is, do I go to bed and take a nap, or do I make a pot of coffee and get some much-needed grading done. Why do I do this to myself?

Leave a Reply

