The meter is running.

We’ve only been up for an hour and a half and Little Miss G has already logged about 137 requests ranging from setting up the new slip-n-slide to asking me to play t-ball with her to finding clean panties (which came after the request to go outside and play) to breakfast. I know she’s bored and she’s ready to start her day. Problem is, I’m not. Super L, picking up on my cues, has actually taken the initiative to climb up on the kitchen counter and help herself to whatever she found in the cabinet–a cereal bar, a pack of teddy grahams, and mini-marshmallows. I didn’t let her eat the marshmallows because I’m planning to use them later for rice-krispy treats. LMG’s breakfast request was pickles, which was granted, because, well, I am perhaps the world’s laziest mother today. Don’t worry, there’s scrambled eggs and toast in their future.

* In my defense: neither of my girls are usually early morning eaters. Usually they won’t eat when they first wake up, they don’t even ask for food until right about now.

There’s no denying that my “get up and go” has got up and went. Today I would love nothing more than to curl up on my bed with a cup of tea, my ipod, and a book. This would be, of course, after I have showered and done basic grooming without the typical three-dozen interruptions and violations to my privacy. I could do this today, but I would have two little girls bouncing on the bed with me, asking to turn on the tv, tangling up my necklaces in my jewelry box, and dragging every shoe I own out of my closet.

I have to admit that my husband is the World’s Greatest about watching the girls whenever I need or just want a break for awhile. And because of this, I’m quite spoiled, and I take brief breaks (just a quick trip to the coffee shop, or a 20 minute drive) frequently. When I got up this morning feeling like this, I wondered what was wrong with me, and then it dawned on me… I’ve been with the girls for nine days straight with the only one break that was a massive grocery shopping trip at a local super-store that I usually avoid (i.e. not a break, I would have much rather been with the kids).Nine days is nothing to some mommies, but that’s a long time for me. Besides, time out of the house isn’t what I need right now.

I know that nobody likes to read a whiny-blogger, so I’m going to try to make this informative. Here is a little-known secret to some younger husbands and fathers–Sometimes mommies don’t want time away from the house. Don’t get me wrong, date nights with our husbands are wonderful. Or a day out shopping with a girlfriend or a trip to a museum by ourselves can be perfect. But what is truly sublime is a day home alone in a house that is quiet, peaceful, not getting messier by the moment. Being home doesn’t require any energy, it doesn’t cost any money, and a mommy can do or have all the creature comforts she desires without interruption or negotiation.

Now I know that some well-meaning husbands will try to simulate this by trying to keep the kids in another part of the house while mommy tries to take a soothing bath or reads in the bedroom. This does not work because the sound travels, and we cannot help but hear the typical chaos that children create. I don’t presume to know what All Women Want, but if you have a wife and you are parents to young kids, I’d be willing to bet that you would be her Hero if you’d just take the kids for an outing for the day. Do what my husband does, take them to grandma’s house. Ha ha!

I promise that I won’t blog again until I’m a little more chipper.

[This blog should have taken 10 minutes to write, but it has actually taken me a half hour. And the request meter is up to 305].

Leave a Reply

