I sat, I read, I thought.

Tuesday night I took some much needed time out of the house, went to the coffee shop and did some reading for a paper I’m writing. I’ve recently finished Rereading the Sophists: Classical Rhetoric Refigured by Susan C. Jarratt. A professor recommended it. It’s a good read if you’re interested in philosophy, rhetoric, and how just a few individual men have shaped and influenced the way we think, and how we perceive logic and validity. Anyway, at the coffee shop I took several pages of notes, and I’m not even close to being done yet. I love mental productivity, and I think that was really the root of what was bothering me earlier this week. Unlike a situation in which there’s work to do that I don’t want to do and therefore willingly avoid, I’d been wanting to dig into this research. That’s the student/teacher/scholar in me begging to be let out to do what she loves after three weeks of all mommy-work. I really need to get serious about outlining the topics for my exit papers. I’m on track to finish my master’s degree in December, but it’s time to start really digging into the research. I’ve got some ideas, but it’s time to start in earnest to get this going.

In other news, yesterday we went to Chuck E. Cheese and I was happily surprised to see that our local restaurant has been expanded and upgraded. It used to be the cruddiest C.E.C that I’d ever seen (but we had no choice as the next closest one was over an hour away), now it is bigger, brighter, newer, cleaner, and everything works! woot!

Today, we’re having friends over to play on our new slip ‘n slide. Which means that I need to go get the dern thing set up. I’m still in my jammies and haven’t even finished my morning coffee yet. Check back later for pics of our day.

One thought on “I sat, I read, I thought.

Leave a Reply

