Soundtrack.

Lately, I’ve been trying to expose Little Miss G to some different music as an alternative to having the t.v. constantly. Every year, something about the transition from summer to fall makes me especially nostalgic about music from days-gone-by, and my ipod has been extra busy lately. So I thought I’d just list a few of the songs that have been getting the most playtime lately… for whatever reason.

“Bodyrock” by Moby – This is my “go to” song on my workout playlist. When I feel like walking when I should be running, I skip to this song, and I’m good to go for at least another couple of laps. I know, you’re probably thinking “Moby has a good workout song? Really?” I don’t think it is him on the vocals, but in terms of mixing and layering music, the guy is talented and versatile.

“Life on a Chain” – I’ve been sitting here trying to explain why, and I can’t. Besides the fact that I think Pete Yorn has an uber-sexy voice, it was just one of those songs that I loved from the first time I heard it.

“September” – Earth, Wind & Fire. John put this song on a mix CD for me not long after Little Miss G was born. September 2002 was rough on me because I was a brand new mommy, struggling to adjust, exhausted beyond belief, and entirely too cooped up inside my house. John was very ill at the time and it was just a really really hard time for us. I can remember one spendid September morning when LMG was about three weeks old, I decided I to just pack her diaper bag, put her in the car, and get out of the house. The minute I pulled out of my driveway, this song came on, and my spirits were immediately lifted. It felt wonderful to just decide to do something and then do it. I remember thinking, things will be okay again. Someday, I’ll be free again. I won’t always be trapped. I didn’t feel trapped by my kid… I felt trapped by everything, and this song helped break some light into that brief but significant sleep-deprived, body-recovering, hormone-surging darkness.

“Mystery” – Indigo Girls. Poetry set to music at it’s best. Beautiful imagery that evokes emotion. It asks a lot of good questions. To me, it captures the mood and feel of nights like tonight perfectly.

“Send Me on My Way” – by Rusted Root. This song makes me happy when I hear it no matter what. This song was also on that mix CD that I relied upon to lift my spirits when LMG was a newborn. Again, this song just feeds my “hit the road for an adventure” fantasy.

“Home Again in My Heart” by the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band. Now, I am no fan of country music. Sorry, I’m just not. But you know how there are days where you just need to go back and remember? This song puts me in a particular time and place that I still cherish.

“Sailin'” by Bobby Darrin. This used to my mine and LMG’s song… back when she was two and Finding Nemo was her favorite movie. We used to dance together to this song during the closing credits every time we watched it. I still love the song, but now when I hear it my arms ache a little for that curly-haired, delightfully chubby, warm bundle of love that I used to be able to dance and cuddle with effortlessly.

“Peace of Mind” – Boston. I personally think this song should be required listening, but that’s just me. It’s a kick-butt song with an excellent message sung only the way Brad Delp could sing it.

“Working My Way Back to You” Franki Valli and the Four Seasons. Super L does an excellent rendition of this song. It is her favorite. We listen to it *a lot* in the car.

“All I Want” Toad the Wet Sprocket, in my opinion, song for song, has some of the most intelligent, thought-provoking lyrics. My favorites by them have been in my top 10 favorites for over 10 years. This particular song, again, evokes a mood and a feel that I associate with autumn.

“City of Blinding Lights” by U2. What can I say? I like to pretend they’re singing about me. Don’t even pretend like you don’t do the same thing.

“Short Skirt and a Long Jacket” by Cake. Ditto above.

Well… that’s just a sampling. Like I said, my ipod has been doing overtime. I’m sure if I were to turn on itunes right now and look at my “most frequent” playlist, I’d have about two dozen others to write about, but seriously, you’ve read enough, right?

So, c’mon faithful readers… what’s your soundtrack been lately? I’m hunting for some new (or old) tunes for me to shuffle into my playlists.

Leave a Reply

