Golden.

See these nice people?

Uncle Ned and Aunt Jackie celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary on Saturday. Count ’em. FIFTY! We went to a reception that was hosted by their four children. It was so lovely to see them surrounded by the love family and friends. Uncle Ned is my great uncle, so we sat at a table with my mom, two of her brothers and their families. We had a great time. Often times the laughter from my family’s table rang out loudest in the room. Not that it is good to be the rowdy table in the back, but the peacefulness and comfort around that table it special. It has not always been that way. My mom’s family has been through a lot over the years. Saturday night was good to see, and good to be a part of. Of course, I forgot my camera and so none of those special moments were digitally captured.

I also got to talk to quite a few people from the church where I grew up. Every time I walk into that FBCB, a little part of me will always feel like the six year-old I was when I walked into Pastor West’s office and asked to be baptised. A part of me will always feel ten, running off to GAs to learn about missionaries. Another part of me will always feel fifteen, ready to do any crazy thing Ron had thought up for kid-kidnap (it wasn’t as bad as it sounds) or JPL. Then, a part of me always feels a bit like the prodigal daughter when I go back.  All those wonderful people who have known me since I was Little Miss G’s age… who have invested so much time, prayer, and love into me… did I make good on their investment? I have to think not. But somehow, the minute I see one of them and I look into their faces, it seems that none of that matters. All that is there is the love they’ve always given me. It’s such a humbling yet uplifting experience. I simply don’t have the words to say how deeply grateful I am to them and to God for placing them in my life. It makes me realize how much I have benefited from having those roots, both in family and in faith.

And as if that wasn’t enough to make Saturday an extremely good day, another special couple, Chris and Laura, were married. I used to occasionally babysit Chris, and his dad Ron is the youth paster I mentioned before. I don’t know Chris well, but I adore his parents and admire their family. (They’re wondeful people. And good bloggers!) And so, my thoughts, prayers, and good wishes were with them on Saturday as well.

One thought on “Golden.

  1. Thank you, my “spiritual daughter.” Debbie and I were so blessed as we read your words. It’s been an honor to be a part of your life! We love you!

Leave a Reply

