Here fishy, fishy, fishy…

John and I have agreed, upon the recommendation of Grandpa, to increase the number of living creatures in our happy home.

We have agreed to allow Grandpa to give the girls a fish tank for Christmas. We even agreed to let him buy fish, too! He’s going to wrap up the tank and the paraphenalia, and on Christmas evening he’ll get the water, filter, lights, and scenery all set up… and then once we’re sure the water is de-chlorinated and ready to go, he’s going to take them to the pet store and let them pick out their own fish. I think this is a totally cool idea. As John said, none of our gifts are even going to matter now, so we might as well take them back. I think he might be right.

On flip side, John and I had agreed not to bring any more living things into this house until 1 masters thesis was completed and all children were totally potty trained. And while I don’t really anticipate fish taking up an inordinate amount of my time, I think back on all the other times I’ve thought this, and I want to kick myself and say… famous freaking last words!

I hope this isn’t going to be one of those times.

3 thoughts on “Here fishy, fishy, fishy…

  1. I won’t try to predict what your experience will be. But… have I ever told you the story of my preschool pets Ernie and Burt and their sad little funeral over a toilet?

Leave a Reply

