Eh?

Just wanted to let you know that I am on my second day of half-deafness. My right ear has filled up to the point that it feels like all available space between my eardrum and the back of my eyeball is full. It doesn’t *hurt*, but it sure isn’t comfortable. And I can not hear diddly squat out of that ear. Nada. Nothin. I’m not even exaggerating. All of my conversations go something like this:

John/Little Miss G/Super L/my dad/friendly person on the phone: mrf mrrlml shrifmlilfm groflim.

Me: Eh?

John/Little Miss G/Super L/my dad/friendly person on the phone: dmlrif formd tifeimf flmgflgro.

Me: What did you say? I can’t hear you.

John/Little Miss G/Super L/my dad/friendly person on the phone: FMIF FFOFRRM OFMTOLD OFLDIRFMMM!

Me: Oh, okay. (shrug)

John/Little Miss G/Super L/my dad/friendly person on the phone: *rolls eyes, shrugs, and walks away* (or at least I assume that’s what the friendly people on the phone do.)

On a more positive note. We have fish now. Two black skirt betas LMG has named Holly and Hooly–names I actually like! Their job is to swim around, eat, and crap all over the place to get that ever-so-necessary nitrogen cycle going so that the water is more suitable for other fish. Yes, fish crap is necessary to sustain other fish life. (And people wonder why I don’t like swimming in lakes. Hello, don’t you know what it takes to make life necessary in those places? Ew.) . I guess the whole keeping them alive so they can eat and poo is our responsibility. Thank goodness my hearing is not necessary for their survival, or they’d be goners already.

But they DO roll their eyes, shrug, and swim away.

Leave a Reply

