I declare!

Karen at Chookooloonks is doing something awesome. Again. And I am going to follow her lead. Again. I’ve been trying to identify my superpower. As I said a few days ago, I was trying to think of a superpower that I might possess besides the gift of gab, but after Michelle’s kind remark, I decided not to “disown” this part of me that is clearly a defining part of who I am. So I’ve been really thinking about it, and here’s what I came up with:

My superpower is my ability to use my words to soothe spirits, to bring divergent ideas together, to promote reconciliation, and to pay a kind and sincere compliment. I love conversation because I love to use my words to show people that they have been truly heard. It is such a precious gift of trust when someone opens their heart to another, and I always try honor that in my relationships with others.

The truth is, I love listening as much as I love talking. I love the exchange of words between friends, between lovers, between spouses, between parents and children, between siblings, between coworkers, between treammates, between the bartender and the patron, and yes, even between advesaries.

It is my sincerest hope that my friends would agree that this is, indeed, one of my superpowers. And if they don’t, then too bad because I know that I am right. 🙂 All kidding aside, that would only proove that I need to use this superpower with more purpose. (That was not a resolution, by the way. But it was close! whew.)


3 thoughts on “I declare!

  1. Nice header. And this is a very important trait. Familiar with Marshall Rosenberg’s Nonviolent Communications, aka: Compassionate Communication? Scooted here via Chookooloonks….warm face you have.

  2. Thank you, Leisa. No, I haven’t heard of Compassionate Communication, but I will definitely check it out. Thanks for the compliments!

Leave a Reply

