Little nuggets of golden fried happiness

I have to admit, that I’m a bit nervous about the post, because the last time I criticized a major corporation, they totally called me out on it, and I fah-REEKED about it. The issue was, however, resolved in a satisfactory manner.

For that reason, though, I’m going to avoid using proper nouns or slogans, but I’m sure you might recognize this packaging and/or logo.

I’m equal parts amused and disturbed by this. Have you seen this?

According to this package, the reason why this product is an “excellent source of happiness” is NOT just because “your mouth…gets to taste” this delicious, crispy product. Oh, nooooo… It’s because that cute, little, not-at-all-realistic, TOY chicken gets to be “all wrapped in a crispy, golden coat.” See? Everybody wins!

[Just never you worry your pretty little head how the actual nugget gets that crispy, golden coat.]

One has to wonder why they even felt the need to broach the subject of how this particular food product is made, particularly since the product and portion is geared specifically toward young children. But if you ask me, this packaging is hilarious. That toy chicken is so darn cute. And the fact that its back is turned to the sack of flour, to me, is a sure sign of either: denial-“They’d never do that to me. I am made of wood after all”; or unsuspecting naivete-“They’d never actually feed questionable substances to people on a massive scale. I am made of wood after all.”

I can’t help but wonder if this is why my three year-old is under the mistaken impression that “Only real chickens live in barns, not [she says emphatically] the ones that we eat.”

I teach the novel Animal Farm to my freshman classes, and I teach it as political/historical allegory to the Russian Revolution. One of my favorite lessons to teach all year is the 3 day mini-lesson on propaganda. We first focus on wartime propaganda, and then, to make the point that we are all susceptible to influence, we spend a day talking about present-day advertising and marketing. This little sample never fails to bring the point home.

Leave a Reply

