December Views-Day 22: Christmas lights and street lamps.

When I started this year’s December Views, I had intended to use my Canon, but after a few days, I found myself quickly pulling out my phone to capture the images that caught my eye rather than running to grab my camera.  I realized that if I was going to snap pics while conducting the regular business of life, my phone was the only way I was going to get it done.

Maybe not-so-coincidentally, I purchased the Hipstamatic app just as December Views began. I had heard good things about it, but did not intend to use it for 90-95% of the shots. It’s a rather addictive little toy…taking fairly mundane subjects and making them nostalgic and beautiful in unexpected ways. I was growing rather spoiled… And it is so much dang fun to play with!

This shot, however, took my breath away. I was standing in ankle-deep snow, trying to capture my neighbor’s blue and white lights reflecting in the snow. I was not expecting the gorgeous red-tones from the streetlight. The contrast of the blues and reds in the corners makes this one of my top 3 favorite shots I’ve ever taken. I hope you enjoy it too.

Leave a Reply

